Yahoo vs. Google

October 15, 2009 at 7:36 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’ve decided to write this blog about the not-so-infamous battle raging between Yahoo and Google. Essentially, it is a war between the auto-complete features. Here are some of the most notable:

Search: “penguins are…”

  • Yahoo: “…so sensitive”
  • Google: “…practically chickens”

Search: “bacon is…”

  • Yahoo: “…a vegetable”
  • Google:  “…like a little hug from god”

Search: “the muffin man is…”

  • Yahoo: “…do you know who the muffin man is?”
  • Google:  “…seated at the table in the laboratory of the utility muffin research kitchen”

Search: “If I ate…”

  • Yahoo: “…moldy food”
  • Google: “…myself I would either be twice as big or disappear completely”

On a tangent, if you search the phrase  “chuck norris” in each website…

  • Yahoo returns the search with the Chuck Norris official website.
  • Google does not link to any sites, instead, this appears: “Google won’t search for Chuck Norris because it knows you don’t find Chuck Norris, he finds you.”

I would have to agree with the large number of people who have come to the consensus that Google wins. You have to admit, they’re pretty funny.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Google returns “penguins arena” for me. Also, http://www.nochucknorris.com is not affiliated with Google and isn’t even a top search result. Thirdly, where did you get this information? Yes. What people type in their little box can be funny.

    • There were many different “suggestions” offered by each site, and it is possible that their rankings, etc. have changed since I wrote tho post. The Chuck Norris site popped up once when I Googled his name; I wasn’t able to consistently obtain it as a search result, which I agree is strange. The “suggestions” came directly from Google and Yahoo, respectively.

  2. And to think the war between Google and Yahoo might have something to do with market share, or search engine results. Silly me. I agree that Google is better, though – it is clearly frequented by the more amusing portion of the population, which a person should always associate with.

  3. Google definitely wins! Winwinwin!
    For some reason, though, I never seem to find really hilarious ones. I guess I’ll just have to continue the search!

  4. hehe thats so funny!
    I know that sites like MLIA feature stories that have Yahoo vs. Google stuff and it always seems like Google wins.
    Luckily for Google, this immature and cute search returns give a better appeal to search engine users.
    Now I shall go off and do my own version of Yahoo vs. Google. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

